Eleven Ensemble

‘Eleven Ensemble’w

It had a life of its own, the Book Party that brought together eleven writers longlisted for the CORA/NLNG Nigeria Prize for Literature, 8 August 2021. That’s when you realised that reading is as much an art as writing, as some of the impresarios (yes, in their own rights) called up to read excerpts from the eleven books did so with panache. Just as the feet that measured the arena in rhythmic steps, often turning the stage into a dance enclave. Adora Hall, venue of the event, bore witness.  And not only to that, to the camaraderie and bonhomie that pervaded the atmosphere. Call it ‘Eleven Ensemble’ if you please; from each one of the other ten on the list, I picked up one or two things about the art and business of writing. And so I must thumbs-up the books that begat the Book Party, in alphabetical order:

  • Delusion of Patriots, Obianuju V. Chukwuorji
  • Give Us Each Day, Samuel Monye
  • Imminent River, Anaele Ihuoma
  • In The Name of Our Father, Olukorede S. Yishau
  • Mountain of Yesterday, Tony Nwaka
  • Neglected, Lucy Chiamaka Okwuma
  • The Colours of Hatred, Obinna Udenwa
  • The Girl with The Louding Voice, Abi Dare
  • The Return of Half- Something, Chukwudi Eze
  • The Son of The House, Cheluchi Onyemelukwe-Onuobia
  • Your Church My Shrine, Law Ikay Ezeh

Kudos also to the organisers whose vision made the event possible = CORA/NLNG.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s